GlimmerBlocker is no longer maintained and should no longer be used as web sites have migrated from using plain http to using https (i.e. encrypted) which prohibits modification by a proxy unless you resort to install custom SSL certiticates on the client.
You should use a browser extension instead.
It was made as a hobby project during 2007-2008 by Peter Speck. It features both a custom http server and http client and a Mac OS X control panel.
First, make sure GlimmerBlocker is deactivated. Open "System Preferences", click on the GlimmerBlocker icon, and make sure the "Activate GlimmerBlocker" checkbox is unchecked:
Because GlimmerBlocker doesn't install system extensions, input managers, etc, it is enough just to deactivate GlimmerBlocker. If you want to really delete it, click "Show all":
Hold down the control-key while clicking the GlimmerBlocker icon.
Choose the "Remove ..." action in the popup menu. GlimmerBlocker is now deleted from your system.
If you're uninstalling GlimmerBlocker because it doesn't work for you, please send feedback about the problem as this helps improving GlimmerBlocker.
Before you delete any files, please deactivate GlimmerBlocker (as shown above) because the network proxy settings have to be updated to not use GlimmerBlocker.
The preferences panel is installed as: (it contains all code, including the proxy server)
GlimmerBlocker keeps all its settings in the folder:
The proxy server creates log files in the folder:
If you delete the Preferences Panel without deactivating GlimmerBlocker first, the network settings will not be updated to not use an http proxy and you'll not be able to use Safari after restarting the Mac.
The simple method to solve the problem is to reinstall GlimmerBlocker and then (as described above) deactivate it and then remove it.
The hard method is to
The file in step 2 tells the system to launch GlimmerBlocker and when GlimmerBlocker is not installed, your system.log will be filled with log notices that launching GlimmerBlocker failed. GlimmerBlocker removes it when deactivated.